print page

Annual Conference 2013

EARTO Annual Conference 2013
New Horizons for 2020 and Beyond: Croatia and South East Europe in the European Union
Dubrovnik, May 23rd-24th

Pictures of the event are available here

Thursday May 23rd

Opening of the Conference:
President of EARTO – Jan Mengelers
Director General of the Brodarski institut – Vladimir Koroman
Director of the Ruđer Bošković Institute – Tome Antičić

Welcome Address by European Commissioner for Regional Policy – Johannes Hahn (video address)

The New Structural Funds: Smart Specialization Strategies for Innovation, Jobs and Growth – Pierre Godin, Policy Analyst, DG Regional and Urban Policy, European Commission

Twinning and Teaming: A H2020 Measure to Support Strategic Partnerships with Research Organisations in Less Research-Intensive Regions – Octavi Quintana Trias, Director,  European Research Area, DG Research & Innovation, European Commission

Progress in the Development of a Regional Strategy on Research and Innovation in the Western Balkans – Paulo Correa, Lead Economist, World Bank

The Croatian Research and Innovation System – Hrvoje Meštrić, Executive Director, Business Innovation Agency of Croatia

Completing the European Research Area – Octavi Quintana Trias, Director,  European Research Area, DG Research & Innovation, European Commission

Structural Funds for Research and Innovation

Croatian Competitiveness Clusters: Platform for Smart Specialisation and Growth of Priority Sectors – Damir Novinić, Managing Director, Agency for Investments and Competitiveness, Croatia

A Programmed Approach to the Use of Structural Funds for Research and Innovation – Nena Dokuzov, Deputy Director General for the EU Cohesion Policy Directorate, Ministry of Economic Development and Technology, Slovenia

TRES: An EU Project of Eight Regions Developing their Smart Specialization Strategies – Begoña Sánchez, Innovation Systems and Policies Manager, Tecnalia Research and Innovation

Ruđer Bošković Institute, Zagreb, Croatia

Brodarski institut, Zagreb, Croatia


From Knowledge to Innovation: Croatian BioCentre – Gordan Leskovar, Project Manager, Business Innovation Agency of Croatia

Copernicus Science Centre – Ewa Nurowska, Deputy Head of Science Communication and Education, Copernicus Science Centre, Poland

DOK- Ing Ltd., Croatia

Končar Electrical Engineering Institute Inc., Croatia

Friday May 24th

Responsible Partnering in a World of Open Innovation – Leopold Demiddeleer, President, EIRMA - European Industrial Research Management Association

Open Access to Publication and Data: an RTO Perspective – Erwin Folmer, Senior Scientist, TNO and Research Associate, University of Enschede

Update on the Revised State Aid Framework for Research, Development and Innovation – Lorenz Kaiser, Division Director for Legal and Contractual Affairs, Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

The New Dedicated SME Instrument – Katharina Krell, Managing Director of Greenovate! Europe and Expert to DG Research and Innovation, European Commission

The Horizon 2020 Rules for Participation – Kathrin Werner, Co-Chair of DESCA

Getting Ready for Horizon 2020 – Sean McCarthy , Managing Director, Hyperion Ltd

EARTO and RTOs: Yesterday – Today – and Tomorrow? – Christopher John Hull, Secretary General, EARTO

Close of the Conference by the President of EARTO and Hosts


« back