24 / 01 / 2022

Roberta Metsola elected new President of the European Parliament

On Tuesday 18 January 2022 the Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) has elected the new president of the European Parliament: Roberta Metsola has been elected in the first voting round with an absolute majority of 458 votes out of 690 among three other candidates.

Roberta Metsola, born in 1979 in Malta, is the youngest ever elected President of the European Parliament and the third woman to hold this position. Following the untimely death of David Maria Sassoli, former President of the European Parliament, Roberta Metsola will take over the leadership of the Parliament for the second half of the legislative term until 2024.

In her speech, after the announcement of her election, she remembered President Sassoli’s legacy and commitment for European values, and she stressed the importance of the European project with the following words: “Europe is about precisely the opposite. It is about all of us standing up for one another, bringing our people closer together. It is about all of us defending those principles of our founding mothers and fathers that led us from the ashes of war and holocaust to peace, to hope, and to prosperity”.

More information