EARTO Annual Conference 2017 in Munich, Germany

Shaping Europe’s Future: RTOs at the Forefront of Innovation Supporting Industry

– Munich, 29-30 March 2017 –


The EARTO Annual Conference 2017 was kindly hosted by EARTO member Fraunhofer on 29-30 March 2017 in Munich, Germany. This year we welcomed more than 250 participants for successful discussions.


The conference focussed on “Shaping Europe’s Future: RTOs at the Forefront of Innovation Supporting Industry”. It featured high-level speakers from the European Commission and other key Institutions, as well as members of EARTO and industry representatives.


Picture of EARTO Annual Conference Dinner 2017

Pictures of EARTO Annual Conference 2017


29 March: EARTO Conference dinner

Welcome addresses by: • Frank Treppe, President, EARTO • Reimund Neugebauer, President, Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft • Dieter Reiter, Mayor of the City of Munich


30 March: EARTO Annual Conference

Introduction: • Georg Schütte, State Secretary at the Federal Ministry of Education and Research • Reimund Neugebauer, President, Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft • Franz Josef Pschierer, State Secretary in the Bavarian Ministry of Economic Affairs and Media, Energy and Technology Moderation by Frank Treppe, President, EARTO


Part 1 – RTOs as Key Drivers of European Critical Technologies Supporting Industry  • Frank Treppe, President, EARTO • Carlos Härtel, CTO & Chief Innovation Officer, GE Europe • Sabine Herlitschka, CEO Infineon Technologies Austria AG • Vladimir Šucha, Director General, Joint Research Centre, European Commission • Antti Peltomäki, Deputy Director General, DG GROW, European Commission Moderation by Frank Treppe, President, EARTO


Part 2 – RTOs as Key Drivers of Innovation Hubs Supporting Industry  • Max Lemke, Head of Unit, Technologies & Systems for Digitising Industry, DG CONNECT, European Commission • Peter Dröll, Director, DG Research & Innovation, European Commission • Antti Vasara, CEO, VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland and Vice-President, EARTO • Alexandra Bech Gjørv, CEO & President, SINTEF • Gabriele Fioni, Director of International Cooperation, CEA and Deputy Director of CEATech Moderation by Pia Sandvik, CEO, RISE Research Institutes of Sweden


Part 3: Supporting Future Research & Innovation Policy: H2020 Mid-Term Review towards FP9 & The European Innovation Council  • Antonio Vicente, Head of Cabinet Moedas, DG R&I, European Commission • Ulrich Samm, Rapporteur on H2020 mid-term evaluation, European Economic and Social Committee • Christian Ehler, MEP, European Parliament • Harri Kulmala, CEO, DIMECC Ltd • Yngve Joseph Foss, Head of Office, Research Council of Norway Brussels Office • Jan van den Biesen, Vice-President Public R&D Programs, Philips Research • Iñaki San Sebastián, CEO, Tecnalia Moderation by Muriel Attané, Secretary General, EARTO


Closing by Frank Treppe, EARTO President