EARTO Annual Conference 2007 in Munich, Germany

Challenges & Responses

– Munich, 3 May 2007 –

  Plenary session1
  • Setting the Scene – Erkki KM Leppävuori (President of EARTO and President of VTT, Finland)
  • Innovation and Cooperation with RTOs: An Industry Perspective – Lars-Göran Rosengren (President and CEO, Volvo Technology Corporation, Sweden)
  • Innovation and SMEs – Johann Wilhelm Arntz (President AiF, Germany)
  Plenary session 2
  • Risk Sharing Finance Facility – Anna Krzyzanowska (Policy Officer, DG Research, European Commission, Belgium)
  • RTO Participation in the 6th Framework Programme – Ernst Kristiansen (Executive Vice President, SINTEF, Norway)
  • Benchmarking:RTO Corporate Development Strategy – Wolfgang Polt (Head of Vienna Office, Institute for Technology and Regional Policy, Joanneum Research, Austria)
  • Cooperation between University and RTOs – Reinhard Maschuw (Chairman of the Executive Board, Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe, Germany)
  Parallel sessions: 1. Impact of RTOs Chair: Dirk-Meints Polter (Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, Germany) Rapporteur: Claude Ayache (CEA, France)
  • “Collaboration with industry-impact for an RTO” – Jan Vogel (TNO, the Netherlands)
  • “How RTOs can support SMEs” – Sonja Sheikh (Austrian Institute for SME Research, Austria)
  • “RTOs, from research to innovation” – Claude Ayache (CEA, France)
  • “Technology commercialization in the new global paradigm” – Ram Mohan (inBAC, USA)
  • “The space you need to get your business off the ground” – Frank M. Salzgeber (ESA,the Netherlands)
  2. Structural Funds and R&D Innovation Chair: István Podmaniczky (Bay Zoltan Foundation for Applied Research, Hungary) Rapporteur: John Hill (Pera Group, United Kingdom)
  • “Examples of EC Structural Fund financed programmes delivered by RTOs to improve SME competitiveness” – John Hill (Pera Group, United Kingdom)
  • “The role of structural funds in the innovation management system in Hungary” – Tamás Balogh (Ministry of Economy and Transport, Hungary)
  • “Experiences of using structural funds” – Peter Oakley (TWI, United Kingdom)
  • “The regional dimension of the 7thFramework Programme” – Stefan Weiers (DG Research, European Commission, Belgium)
  • “Structural funds in emerging markets” Mariusz Wielec (Ministry of Science and Higher Education, Poland)
  3. Open Innovation, Responsible Partnering and IPR Chair: Lorenz Kaiser (Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, Germany) Rapporteur: Andrew Dearing (EIRMA, France)
  • “Working with universities” – Willem Wolters (Wageningen University, the Netherlands)
  • “Implications for IPR” – Albert Zeestraten (Shell, the Netherlands)
  • “Responsible partnering and knowledge transfer” – Gilles Capart (ProTon, Belgium)
  • “EIT situation report” – David White (DG Education and Culture, European Commission, Belgium)
  • “The role of the IPR Helpdesk” – Lucía Sirera (IPR Helpdesk, Spain)
  • “The IP Charta” – Lorenz Kaiser (Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, Germany)
  May 4, 2007 Opening remarks
  • Erkki KM Leppävuori (President of EARTO and President of VTT, Finland)
  • Hans-Jörg Bullinger( President of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, Germany)
  Keynote speeches
  • Janez Potocˇnik(European Commissioner for Science and Research, Belgium)
  • Edelgard Bulmahn (Member of the German Bundestag, Chairwoman of the Committee on Economics and Technology of the German Bundestag, Germany)
  Reports on the parallel sessions and discussion
  1. Impact of RTOs
  2. Structural funds and R&D innovation
  3. Open innovation , responsible partnering and IPR
  Closing session
  • Hans-Jörg Bullinger (President of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, Germany)
  • Erkki KM Leppävuori (President of EARTO and President of VTT, Finland)