08 / 07 / 2019

European Parliament appointed ITRE Committee Members and Substitutes

At its first plenary meeting on 2-4 July 2019, the European Parliament (EP) elected David Sassoli, an Italian MEP since 2009, as its new President. The EP elected 14 Vice-Presidents and five quaestors.


The newly elected Parliament also appointed the Members of its different Committees. The ITRE Committee (Committee on Industry, Research and Energy) of particular importance for EARTO will be composed of 72 members. Key MEPs Dan Nica (HEU rapporteur) and Christian Ehler (HEU Specific Programme rapporteur) will continue to sit in the ITRE Committee. On 10 July 2019, Adina-Ioana Vălean was elected as the new ITRE Chair for a two-and-a-half year term. The first meeting of the new ITRE Committee will take place on 22-23 July 2019. EARTO will congratulate the ITRE-appointed MEPs and offer its support to relevant activities of the Committee.



More information

Full list of all committee members