04 / 07 / 2019

EC announced Chairs of the Mission Boards

On 4 July at the Informal Council for Research Ministers in Helsinki, Commissioner for Research and Innovation Carlos Moedas announced the appointment of five experts to chair the Mission Boards:

  • Connie Hedegaard, former European Commissioner for Climate Action, for the mission on ‘Adaptation to Climate Change including Societal Transformation
  • Harald zur Hausen, Nobel Prize Laureate in Physiology or Medicine, for the mission on ‘Cancer’
  • Pascal Lamy, former Trade Commissioner and Director-General of the World Trade Organisation, for the mission on ‘Healthy Oceans, Seas, Coastal and Inland Waters’
  • Hanna Gronkiewicz-Waltz, former Mayor of Warsaw, for the mission on ‘Climate-Neutral and Smart Cities’
  • Cees Veerman, former Dutch Agriculture Minister, for the mission on ‘Soil Health and Food’


Each Mission Board will be constituted of 15 experts, including the Chair. The EC expects to announce the full composition of the Mission Boards by the end of July 2019 (many EARTO CVs sent in). By the end of 2019, the Mission Boards will identify the first possible specific missions, with a concrete target and timeline. The Boards will discuss with citizens, stakeholders and experts from Member States at the European R&I Days on 24-26 September in Brussels.


More information