27 / 10 / 2021

EARTO Innovation Awards 2021 Attributed to CEA and Tyndall National Institute

Congratulations to EARTO Members CEA and Tyndall National Institute who were awarded the EARTO Innovation Awards 2021 today during a ceremony held digitally.
  • CEA received the award in the Impact Delivered category for the development of a patented Smart Cut™ process of substrate fabrication in collaboration with SOITEC, which results in a transfer a thin active layer of silicon from one substrate to another, which can be used in all electronic devices.
  • Tyndall National Institute received the award in the Impact Expected category for the development of the MagIC platform, which delivers thin-film micro-magnetics components that can enable dramatic reductions in electronic system energy use.
    Created in 2009, the EARTO Innovation Awards highlight the various areas of RTOs’ activities and illustrate RTOs’ concrete contributions to innovation with high societal impact through the two categories: “Impact Delivered” and “Impact Expected”. The Awards’ independent jury chose the best innovations of the year. Our Jury Members this year were:     On the same day, EARTO has published the 2021 edition of its Innovation Awards brochure, a collection of thirty-eight innovations featuring EARTO members, which gives a flavour of the wide range of RTOs’ work. Such innovations demonstrate RTOs’ capacity to support Europe’s innovation performance and their focus on solving today’s challenges and delivering impact. The brochure includes articles on all RTOs that took part in this year’s competition, as well as articles on RTOs International Network (RIN), with a special focus on the 6 finalists which are, in addition to the two above-mentioned winners:     Video of Impact Delivered Finalists Video of Impact Expected Finalists Press Release Full EARTO Innovation Awards 2021 brochure