print page

Annual Conference 2011

Thursday 12 May

Delivering the Innovation Union: The Essential Contribution of RTOs - Plenary Session - 9:00-12:30

Opening Plenary Session (Part One) 9:00-10:15

  • Welcome from EARTO, Erkki Leppävuori, President
  • Welcome from Technology Partners, Tomasz Kosmider, President
  • Keynote - Maria Orlowska, Secretary of State, Ministry of Science and Higher Education
  • The Polish Innovation System and the Role of RTOs - Zbigniew Smieszek, Vice-President, Main Council of R&D Units

Coffee Break: 10:15-10:45

Opening Plenary Session (Part Two) 10:45-12:30

Lunch 12:30-13:30

Delivering the Innovation Union: The Essential Contribution of RTOs - Parallel Sessions - 13:30-17:00

Models and Perspectives for Strategic Cooperation among RTOs

Strategic cooperation among RTOs, nationally and transnationally, provides opportunities to share knowhow and special facilities and to build and exploit complementary expertise. It can be a way for smaller RTOs to build scale and scope. This session is also a wrap-up conference if the AERTOs RTO ERA-NET project.

Moderator: Jens Neugebauer, Director for European Policy and Business Development, Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

Cooperation Among and With RTOs: Examples and Lessons from Poland

In this Parallel Session, we shall explore how RTOs can cooperate with each other and with industry. We shall learn from examples of cooperation within Poland and between partners in Poland and elsewhere; discuss the opportunities to finance projects using Polish funds; discuss the key factors for success in RTO cooperation, for example in the context of European Innovation Partnerships.

Moderator: Richard Granger, President Brussels Office, Technology Partners

Following the presentations, an opportunity to meet and discuss individually with the member RTOs of the Technology Partners Consortium

Innovation Union: from Research to Innovation

The conference plenary sessions will focus on some of the major architectural issues and programme features of the Commission’s Innovation Union and Common Strategic Framework proposals. This session will give an opportunity to discuss some more specific aspects of particular interest to RTOs.

Moderator: John Hill, CEO, Pera

EARTO Executive Board Meeting 17:30-19:00

For EARTO Board Members only

Conference Dinner 20:00 - Museum of John Paul II

Departure from the lobby of the Sofitel Warsaw Victoria at 19:30
Muzeum Kolekcji im. Jana Pawła II
Plac Bankowy 1 - 00-139 Warszawa
Further information can be found here

Friday, 13 May

EARTO Annual General Meeting (EARTO Members only) 8:30-9:30

Implementing the Innovation Union: The Essential Contribution of RTOs - Plenary Session - 9:45-13:30

Plenary Session (Part one) 9:45-11:15

Coffee break: 11:15-11:45

Plenary Session (Part two) 11:45-13:30

  • Keynote - Patricia Reilly, Member of the Private Office of Máire Geoghegan-Quinn, European Commissioner for Research, Innovation and Science
  • Innovative Poland - An Important Partner whithin the Innovation Union - Sylwia Wasniewska, Deputy Director, Economy Development Department, Ministry of Economy
  • Keynote - Krzysztof J. Kurzydlowski, Director, National Centre for Research and Development
  • Closing address - Erkki Leppävuori, President, EARTO
  • Announcement of 2012 Annual Conference

Buffet Lunch 13:30

Additional Information

You can find some pictures from the Conference here 


« back